Zorindha's Place in the Sun

me, myself and my words

April Fool’s day!

Today the 1st of April is a fun day to read the news. The origin of April Fool’s day is much disputed but hoaxes on this day has been going on since atleast the 1930s.

According to the Museum of Hoaxes the best, or most famous, hoax “as judged by notoriety, creativity, and number of people duped” is the BBC Panorama “Spaghetti harvest” from 1957. According to the Museum of Hoaxes, people called the BBC and asked how they could grow their own spaghetti tree. The answer from BBC was “place a sprig of spaghetti in a tin of tomato sauce and hope for the best.” Brilliant…

Some of today’s funny articles is one in Daily Mail that includes some (nicely?) photoshopped pictures.

If you understand Swedish, you might like this one about the UN planning to restrict internet usage to 5GB per month per person.

My personal favourite is the article in The Independent which made me laugh out loud. I mean, who could possibly say no to something that might create a black hole in central London?

It’s nice to have one day a year when reading the news acturally makes you giggle instead of being troubled. In fact, it makes me wish there were more of these days when we can relax and take everything just a little less serious.

Updated: I came across this one late afternoon, and I have to say this one is my new favourite prank this year. Thank you The Economist for raising the concern about peak oil… peak olive oil… Pay extra attention to the graph, that really made me laugh.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2010 by in Culture, News.
